Biological and health effects of non-ionizing radiation that is used by 5G

Igor Belyaev received a diploma in Physical Engineering (Radiation Physics and Dosimetry) from the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute (Moscow Technical University) in 1981; a Ph.D. in Radiobiology from the Institute of Biophysics, USSR Academy of Science, Pushchino, USSR, in 1986; a Doctor of Science Degree in Genetics from St. Petersburg State University, St. Petersburg, Russia, in 1994; and was named an Associate Professor of Toxicological Genetics by the Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden, in 2004.

From 1981 to 1994, he held the positions of Research Scientist, Head of the Laboratory, and Head Research Scientist at the Department of Biophysics, Radiation Physics and Ecology at the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute. From 1994 to 2007, he served as a visiting scientist, senior research scientist and group leader at the Departments of Radiobiology, Molecular Genome Research, Genetic and Cellular Toxicology, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden, and until recently as a Professor at the Institute of General Physics, Russian Academy of Science, Moscow, Russia. Since 2007, he has worked for the Cancer Research Institute, Biomedical Research Center, Slovak Academy of Science.

Igor Belyaev is now or formerly a member of:

  • the Working Groups of the International EMF Project of the World Health Organization;
  • the Working Group for the evaluation of radio frequency carcinogenicity of the International Agency on Research in Cancer;
  • the Stakeholder Dialogue Group on EMF, Health systems and Products, Risk Assessment, Health and Consumers of the Directorate-General of Health at the European Commission;
  • the EMF Working Group of the European Academy for Environmental Medicine;
  • the Memorial Fund Committee of the Bioelectromagnetics Society;
  • the Swedish National Committee for Radioscience; and
  • the Russian National Committee on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection.

He serves as Associate Editor for the International Journal of Radiation Biology and on the Editorial Boards of Electromagnetic Biology and Medicine and the International Journal of Molecular Science. In 2011, he received an award from the Bioelectromagnetics Society for the most influential paper in Bioelectromagnetics for the period 2006–2010.